August 13, 2013: To a Boy in Brazil

I miss you. Please tell what’s happening in your life. I wonder if you’ve participated in the protests in Rio. Please tell me you are safe. Have you been writing much as of late? I hope that you have gained confidence in your words, the words that made me feel deeply for you and your loss. You know that I thrive from tragedy and you wrote of yours with so much sincerity, I know she has not left your side.

Maybe in another life we’d be lovers. We’ve got old souls. We’d spend afternoons in literary worlds. Then we’d go dancing at night. We’d climb mountains in the mornings and ford streams before brunch. If not love, it would be the most delicate of friendships. 

Leave a Reply

