August 20, 2013: Read This While Listening to Ian Axel’s “Gone”

Being who you want to be
takes too long.
I wish lifelong aspirations would come with
free two day shipping.
We should have told you about the revolution,
but it kind of slipped my mind.

If I could tell you why I need to buy a new notebook
every day,
do you think I wouldn’t need you anymore?

I think it’s just because
I need to see a clean slate
more than I need to feel it.
Please stop asking me to be me.

I don’t want you to be comfortable.
I want you to lie in bed with the
American flag draped around you,
wondering why you came here,
dragging your ambitions
behind you
like
your daughter’s
hair ribbons.

You’re still childless,
I know. I made
that
up.

I want you to read Nietzsche by the fire,
wondering why I kissed you.
Have you ever passed by
a burning car?
I feel heat like that
when I am with you.

You are Florida,
in need winters.

I don’t care if you fall down
hard
without a sound.

I’d rather see you rise up
from a field of flowers
on fire
than climb a mountain
underwater.

I don’t need to see you
succeed, I just want to
see you
believe
in yourself.

That kind of smile only comes once
in a while
and I’d like to see it more
than the sun

for now.

Leave a Reply

